QVC- I know I go on about it a lot, here’s why.

Standard

OK, so I’ve noticed that all of my beauty posts so far have mentioned QVC at some point. Basically, I love the place and the whole concept of shopping without having to leave my house. You see, I work A LOT and it’s highly unlikely that I’ll ever get a day off to actually go shopping; if something isn’t available from my local shopping centre, I do not have time to venture into Liverpool to buy it. But there are a lot of other reasons why I love QVC- here they are.

  1. Great Product Selection. A lot of the time when watching QVC, you won’t have heard of the brand names of the beauty products being sold. This isn’t because they are crap, in fact it’s quite the opposite. Most QVC beauty brands are exclusive to high-end markets. This means that you won’t find them on the high street and more often than not the only other place to stock the brand, if anywhere at all, will be Harrods, Selfridges or Harvey Nicholls. A lot of brands now widely available on the UK market were originally introduced by QVC- Philosophy, Smashbox, L’Occitane, Elemis (to name a few) were all at one point totally exclusive to QVC in the UK. On top of that, brand and product selection is huge. There is something for everyone.
  2. International Brand. We all think of QVC as being an American phenomena, which it is in a way, but QVC now has channels in Japan, Germany and Italy. This means that not only does QVC keep an eye on British and American beauty trends, it also knows what their is demand for in other major consumer districts and introduces them to the market here. It’s a very clever way of road-testing a product and ensuring it’s quality and it also makes a lot of the products very ahead of their time.
  3. Price. QVC showcases big brands every so often by introducing them as TSV (Todays Special Value) or a OTO (One Time Only). I’ve got some fab beauty bargains by ordering TSV sets where you get the one product you really want with 4 or 5 “extras” for the same price. Even if an item isn’t on special offer, chances are you will be able to get a great deal on it- for example, the Elemis Tan Accelerator I previously reviewed is £19.60 on the Elemis website but on QVC you can get two for £30!
  4. Customer Service/Returns. Ok, so every now and then there will be a product you utterly hate. How many high-street stores will allow you to return a used beauty item? Not many, whereas QVC offer a 30 day money back guarantee on all purchases whether you have tried them or not. Plus they are open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week so if you really need to speak to someone about your order it doesn’t matter what your working hours are.
  5. No compulsive purchasing. When I’m shopping in a department store, I’m much more inclined to start purchasing compulsively. For a start, I’m totally overwhelmed by the amount of products and more often than not I’ll forget what I’m there for and buy something I neither want nor need. The last time this happened to me, I ended up with a Bobbi Brown foundation that having tried before I already knew I didn’t like, yet I bought it anyway. At QVC, they demonstrate a product for at least 5 minutes, which gives you time to look it up on the internet and see what reviews are like. Hell, QVC even publishes customer reviews on it’s website and doesn’t discriminate between good reviews and poor ones. If a product is awful, chances are there will be hundreds of previous customers telling you not to buy it.
  6. No pushy sales people. If you don’t want the item, just turn it off.
  7. You get to see your product in action. If it’s a beauty product, you’ll see it on a variety of skin tones, ages etc and you get to see it being demonstrated by an expert- not just a sales person. I know it’s a pretty bitchy thing to say but the orange faced, white necked ladies who work on concession stands are just sales people. You don’t need a qualification to do that job and they are passing on advice third or fourth hand that often bears no relevance to the product they are selling. Their job is to sell, and they’ll do this by telling you what you want to hear- just ask my Mum about the time she tried to buy a Clinique foundation and she left the stall looking like Coco the Clown.
  8. It’s great for lazy people. I can buy things without getting off my couch. Woohoo!
  9. Sometimes, it’s pretty entertaining to watch. See above photograph of John Barrowman in bed with QVC presenters trying to sell a duvet.

So there you go, just a few of the reasons why I buy a lot of stuff from QVC 😀

Leave a Reply

