The post in which my entire skin care routine potentially falls to pieces.

Standard

I should start off by saying that at 27, I’ve already wasted dedicated fourteen years of my life to finding the perfect skin care routine. I have no idea what this has cost me, but if I work off the estimate that I’ve bought a 3-step skin care programme about every 3 months that’s cost me roughly £50 it turns out I’ve already spent £2800 on skin care products; And let’s just say that’s a conservative estimate. Just yesterday, I blogged about the £180 worth of Elemis products I “invested” in for my wedding.

Not long after purchasing, I stumbled upon an Asian blogger who had heavily quoted a thesis from a dermatologist which basically debunked the entire beauty industry. Infuriatingly, I can no longer find that blog post, but having spent a few hours looking though other blogs on the subject and listening to the thoughts of a few Youtube guru’s, it seems that a lot of what I read is more than just a concept. The thesis basically argued that the skin care regimes sold to us for a lot of money are useless and this can be proven by comparing the skin of “First World”  women to those in poorer societies where the only skin care routine is a twice daily wash. Apparently, if all we used was a good cleanser and an SPF we’d look a lot better.

Now, this troubles me. Not only have I spent a small fortune in search of flawless skin but I actually like buying skin products. I get as excited buying a new moisturiser as I do buying an eyeshadow and I love the feeling of cleanliness you experience after an at-home facial. So after all this time trying new and increasingly more expensive product is my skin great? Well, no. I still, at 27, suffer from breakouts on my cheeks and I permanantly suffer with blemishes on my chin and jawline. Nothing ever budges these- it’s something I’ve learned to live with. A good skin product for me is one which reduces the chance of a breakout eveywhere else.

To make matters worse, my best friend washes her face with the first thing that comes to hand- soap, witch hazel, Lynx shower gel- and her skin is absolutely flawless. My Mum is the same- I’ve caught her washing her face with Fairy washing up liquid in the past because she’d forgot to buy Palmolive block soap (that’s the most she has ever splashed out on skin care) and for a woman of 54 her skin is great! Neither of them use moisturiser, cleanser, not even a baby wipe and they both have skin to be envious of.

This thesis argued that other than an SPF, we don’t need to put anything else in our skin: collagen in cream form won’t increase collagen production, AHA’s/BHA’s have to stay on the skin for a lot longer to do anything, anti-oxidents dissolve into nothing as soon as the product sees sunlight or air. They benefit our skin in no way whatsoever and more often than not this is what us, the consumer, gets hyped up about. On top of that, the thesis argues that oily skin DOES NOT NEED a moisturiser, applying any more moisture will never reduce the production of sebum in the skin as the beauty industry would have us oilies believe, this was just a myth created to sell more product.

I’m now feeling the need to write into Mythbusters about this. It’s like I need someone, anyone, to tell me that I’ve been doing the right thing all along and that skin care is not a waste of time or money.

If you would like to see one Youtube Guru’s thoughts on skincare, watch the video that made me start panicking here at the Goss channel. This video pretty much agrees with all of what was written in the aforementioned blog post, In fact I’m wondering if Goss has read the same article. (Might I add how much I love this guy! I’ve learnt more from his YouTube vids than I ever did on my makeup course!!).

Either way- are you ever going to give up your routine and see if your skin improves? I don’t know if I can bring myself to do it. It’s like giving up smoking- maybe after this batch….

5 responses »

  1. Hey you’re not the only one! I could have funded an early retirement, a full face lift and vacation home with everything I’ve spent on skincare, and I will say most of the super expensive stuff isn’t much better than the drug store brands). But I’m not sure I agree with the thesis that all skin care is bunk. Exfoliation for example is key in making your skin glow. Moisturizers, if anything make your skin look more radiant and dewy. That said, I’m a lot more careful now because I now tap the big guns to look my lovliest (read: Botox, lasers, etc), but swear by prescription strength Retinol, Skin Ceuticals C&E Feurlilic (a serum for preventing sun damage), make-up remover wipes, my Clarsonic brush plus Cetaphil for cleansing and a moisturizer with SPF (now I’m using DDF Oil Free Hydrator w/ SPF 45).

    • Wow- that sounds like a hardcore habit to me!! Glad I’m not the only one.
      I was pondering this whole debate last night whilst trying out my new Elemis Tri-Enzyme Gel Mask. At £46 it’s not cheap and all I kept thinking was “such as waste of money”. But when I took it off after 10 minutes, there was no arguing that my skin at least felt better and this morning my skin definitely looks better, so maybe my faith in beauty consumerism has been restored. Either way, I’m never going to give up buying new stuff- high end or drugstore, because i’m just too much of a product junkie, haha.
      Have you seen a noticeable difference in your skin after lasering?

      • Yes and no. When I turned 40 I did a tightening laser (which I didn’t need in the first place so it did nothing) and also Aurora which did a nice job getting rid of some melasma I had from pregnancy. Last year, I did the Fraxel Duo Restore for sun spots. My skin looked better I guess – tighter, smaller pores, fewer sunspots, but after minor sun exposure a few months later, the spots came back. It apparently isn’t the magic bullet for all women.

Leave a Reply

