A lesson learned: Don’t sneer at Xmas gifts from your Uncle.

Standard

I think it’s fair to say that every year you receive one present that you don’t favour as much as the others. I never want to seem ungrateful, but lets be honest, it happens!

This year, my burly 58 year old uncle (a builder and former amateur boxer) took himself off to Boots to buy gifts for the female members of the family. I thought this was pretty brave of him! He got me this Fearne Cotton Brush Up Your Image gift set:

Imagewhich I’m not sure of the price of as, of course, it was a gift but I’m going to guess it retails at around £10-£15?

It was a really thoughtful gift but I must admit when I first opened it I just thought it was going to be another useless brush set, many of which I have received in the past!

HOW WRONG I WAS!!

The 5 brushes are double ended, so actually you are getting 10 brushes in total. There is no information on the box but I’m guessing the fibres are synthetic as Fearne is a veggie. Firstly, I have to say it’s really pretty, the brushes all have a uniue black and white design and the brush fibres are either hot pink or orange. Secondly, the 5 brushes in this set are all useful which is novel for a brush kit- usually there are one or two brushes that I never, ever use. The kit contains:

  • Foundation brush
  • 2 x blush/face/powder brushes
  • Angled contour brush
  • Large flat eyeshadow brush
  • Smaller flat eyeshadow brush
  • Large domed eyeshadow brush
  • Smaller domed eyeshadow brush
  • Angled liner brush
  • Lip brush

The brushes are lovely quality, although I have found the orange fibres to be a bit more “scratchy” than the pink ones. Honestly, in my day to day face routine I would use every single one of these therefore making it a really handy brush set to have. The foundation brush is brilliant, better than some I’ve paid £20+ for and is small enough to use as a concealer brush or to get into those niggly little spaces like undereyes and around your nose.

As I said earlier, the quality of the brushes is not standard across the set with some being softer than others. I can cope with that for personal use but these would never make my professional kit. I haven’t experienced any shedding and the fibres are lovely and dense; great for packing on colour. My only major complaint is the angled liner brush is not dense enough to be used as intended, the fibres splay a bit too much and it would be difficult to create a perfect liner if using a gel liner. HOWEVER, I would reccomend this brush to be used as an eyebrow brush, as you don’t need such a perfect line for brushing a wet or dry eyebrow colour through your brows. In turn, the lip brush would make a much better liner brush as it is just the right length and density for painting on a perfect line and maybe even going a bit mad with your liner pattern.

So all in all, this is a really marvellous brush set and I’d recommend it for amateurs and professionals alike. I’m going to save mine for when I go to Thailand in May, meaning I only need to take half as many brushes as I usually do!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

