Squee: My second Illamasqua Mystery Box arrived!

Standard

Lord knows why, given that I ordered them together, they arrived over a week apart! Nevertheless the second one is here and I have to say I’m thoroughly impressed with it!! This little baby cost £2 more than the Eyes & Nails box at £25.33 but bearing in mind that each of these items would set you back £15 at least individually, it’s a bargain!

This one arrived in less bubble wrap than the last one, so the box is slighly damaged. Not a problem for me as I’m binning it anyway, but had I ordered this as a gift it would have been too damaged to give 😦

Anyway, I was VERY happy when I opened it. A lot of people seem to have received a muddy orange blush in their Alter Ego box- a colour called Create that Illamasqua reccomend for contouring, although it seems to be either too dark or too light for every one who has received it. But I didn’t get that!!

DSC00740

Instead I received a baby pink blusher in Unrequited. This is super, super pigmented and my first attempt at using it was actually a bit of a disaster (I looked like a clown). I’ve got to grips with it now though and really love the colour, although even applied sparingly it’s not one for the faint hearted.

DSC00741

I also received a matte black eyeshadow in Lestat- another item which seems to have been popular in these mystery boxes. It’s not the most pigmented black shadow I own but in many ways I think this is a good thing. I’ve made the mistake of using Urban Decay’s Zero shadow as a crease colour a couple of times but actually just ended up wearing a black shadow because it is so hyper-pigmented it completely takes over the look you were going for.

The lipstick, as you can see, is a gorgeous red in Tramp. I actually already own two of these, but at least it’s something I like! I am forever losing red lipsticks so it’s good to have a spare one stashed in my arsenal. This is actually the red I wore on the day of my wedding and people are forever asking me what shade/brand it is.

SONY DSC

 

Also for the lips I received the Intense Lipgloss in Femme. When I first opened the box I thought it was Succubus- another Illamasqua product I have previously owned, but this isn’t even similar. It’s a beautiful dark coral-pink, applies really nicely to give the impression of a high shine lipstick. I haven’t tried this out yet for wear or longevity, but in terms of the colour and texture it’s a thumbs up so far.

And then of course, there are the two non-mystery items; Liquid Metal in Electrum which I already own and a nail polish in Collide, which is as bright as the neon orange I received in my last box but pink! Certainly can’t wait for warmer climes to I can try this out, even just on my toes 🙂

DSC00744

L-R: Blusher in Unrequited, Shadow in Lestat and Intense Lipgloss in Femme

You can see from this photo that the Lestat shadow is not great for pigmentation, but I’m sure it will be great for darkening shadows in the outer corner of the eye and the crease. Also, my enagement ring needs cleaning as it seems to have a it of mushy pea on it??

The Alter Ego mystery box is no longer available from Debenhams but the Eyes & Nails box is still in the sale!! From my experience I’d snap one up while you can.

 

Leave a Reply

